Welcome

Hello readers and friends.

You may have stumbled here after reading our Open Letter in the August issue of KoreAm Journal or perhaps after visiting our official website. Regardless of how you found us, we’re happy you’re here.

Now please let us explain why we’re here.

KoreAm Journal has been around for 18 years. Yes, we’re old — or as we like to think of it, old school — though our passion has always been sharing the news, stories and issues of the Korean American community in the freshest of ways. In recent months, we’ve explored everything from international adoption in South Korea to same-sex marriage to Yul Kwon’s love life — you know, the important stuff. We serve as an exciting hub for Korean American voices and showcase the faces you won’t find in mainstream magazines. With limited resources, we’re doing it all.

And we’re not done yet.

But times are tough in the world of ethnic media. In order for KoreAm to continue to survive and thrive, we need your help. That’s why we’re launching this three-month Save KoreAm campaign. Please browse this website for ways to support this pioneering magazine and spread the word about our cause.

And if you have any questions, ideas or if you simply wish to share what KoreAm means to you, please comment here or contact us. We want hear from you.

***

UPDATE: We put out the call and you responded. Thank you so much for your contributions, new or renewed subscriptions, comments, e-mails, phone calls and blog entries. Every word and dollar makes a difference. There’s still more work to be done as we continue this campaign through November. We invite you to keep track of our progress on our UPDATES page.

17 Responses to “Welcome”

  1. bordishki Says:

    I AGREE! please please PLEASE donate to this worthy cause.
    I’ve been reading KoreAm since I was in high school. It helped me TREMENDOUSLY in shaping my Korean American identity.
    I LOVE this magazine. Please, please help out!

  2. Lola Says:

    For all the realities that face minorities in today’s constant converging American media, saving our outlets of ethnic press should be top priority in keeping our voices. Yes, KoreAm caters to the very narrow audience of Koreans in America, but it doesn’t make it insignificant. I would hate to see this publication go under because fellow Koreans didn’t feel the need to save it. This magazine has put so much out there for almost 2 decades: Sa-i-gu, Virginia Tech, Michael Cho, A&F’s racist T-shirts, etc.. the list goes on to include Kollaboration, the bevy of musical and visual artists who would have been overlooked elsewhere, were triumped in our Spotlight pages throughout the years.
    In other words, KoreAm belongs to YOU. and me. to all of us as Koreans, whether you’ve been reading since Vol.1 Issue 1 or merely glanced over the Priscilla Ahn cover this past June.
    This may be one of those cases where it won’t affect you in the meantime; you forget about KoreAm, and don’t care if/when it folds. But what if this country gets a Korean president one day? What if Rain actually goes through with his U.S. tour? Who’s going to effectively cover these issues- the general American press? I doubt they can get it as good as the KoreAm staff, who obviously understand thoroughly the news relevant to today’s Korean-Americans of all ages.
    It’s simple: save KoreAm, save the future of Korean-American media and culture. One day, we’ll be looking back at a gap in Korean-American history and wonder why we didn’t help KoreAm when we could have. Let’s avoid that by looking toward the future! KoreAm.. fighting!!!

  3. Noah Says:

    I picked up my first copy of KoreAm in college, back when the magazine was printed mostly in black and white.

    I remember the conundrum of deciding where to spend my hard earned internship/blood donation money. The shelves were starting to crowd with all manner of Asian American publications. A. Magazine was slick, and the covers of Yolk were lust-inducing to say the least.

    But there was something different about KoreAm. After all, the first issue I picked up featured a Korean American police officer as the cover model. I still have that first issue and in all that time, KoreAm has continued to surprise, inform, amaze and inspire me.

    The staff and contributors at KoreAm, both past and present, are some of the hardest working people I know. They bust their butts every month to deliver a product of the highest caliber. To anyone who is reading this comment, I highly encourage you to give whatever you can. Renew your subscription, send them your loose change, send them the cash you’d spend on a ticket to see the new Star Wars flick (trust me, this would represent an infinitely better investment of your hard earned dough).

    As a long-time reader, and now a regular contributor to KoreAm, please give whatever you can or at the very least, leave a comment of support for the KoreAm staff. If you can’t give money, then at least give some props.

    KoreAm Forever!
    Noah

  4. Regina Says:

    KoreAm makes me feel more human in a world that often tries to pigeonhole and categorize me. It’s a magazine that has worked hard to embrace the diversity of who we are as Korean Americans. By diversity, I don’t mean just first, 1.5, second generation, bicultural, or adopted. The writing showcases all that, but also digs deeper into the different things we love, hate, share, fear and celebrate. It highlights not just the superstars, but also the ordinary, the misfits and the dreamy artists.

    The mainstream media missed the boat when it came to the LA Riots in ’92. They couldn’t understand what it meant to have so little coverage about a community and then suddenly find the spotlights thrown, only in the context of Korean/African American tensions. KoreAm has fought hard to bring up those back stories that never got mentioned, all the haunting stories of ordinary human beings.

    I am deeply grateful for all the great writing, editing and design that went into this labor of love. Until mainstream media can embrace the diversity of who we are and show our humanity on a regular basis, there is still a strong argument for keeping KoreAm alive. Do what you can to keep this good thing going.

    Love Live KoreAm!
    Regina

  5. Caroline Says:

    KoreAm has been an important factor to the vibrant pulse of the Korean community, and it has been a much-needed resource for the up-and-coming generations of Korean-Americans. With the distorted and confusing viewpoints of mainstream media today, it’s become a difficult task to find oneself in a stream of lies and stereotypes that have become all too common.

    But to have a voice, to have a catalyst of what a COMMUNITY is, and to be introduced to REAL stories of REAL-LIFE heroes is exactly what younger people need these days. I am proud to call myself a Korean-American, and I know that there are many people out there who feel the same way. It’s not about winning the World Cup or acquiring gold medals, but it’s about facing the predicaments that we as minorities face, and to rise TOGETHER from them.

    KoreAm is just that. It gives us hope that we are all in this together, and we can still educate Koreans to see past the nonsense that is Britney Spears’ new diet or how to have a toned butt to how “normal” Korean-Americans are making waves all around us which inspires us to change our own communities and to cause our own ripple effects.

    So go support KoreAm and let’s also encourage the amazing staff by leaving a comment or two. Words can mean much more than anything else at times! 🙂

  6. Margie (Third Mom) Says:

    I got an email recently that alerted me to the news and was stunned. I’m an adoptive mom; my children are both Korean. KoreAm has been my family’s link to the Korean American community across the country for years. With every issue we’ve learned about an amazing Korean American person, or organization, or event. We’ve learned what is happening in the Korean American community, and what challenges and issues face Americans of Korean descent.

    I will spread the word to the members and chapters of Korean Focus (www.koreanfocus.org) and the other organizations I belong to or know who can do the same.

    I echo the sentiments above: KoreAm and the KoreAm staff are terrific!! Here’s to many more years of publication!!

  7. Deb Dalton Says:

    I also am an adoptive mom and rely on KoreAm to provide connections for me and for my now teen age kids to Korea culture. So much of Korean culture is really unavailable to nonKorean speaking people – there are lots of Korean newspapers etc in the DC area but not much that appeals or is readable to the youngest audiences (teens and young adults).

    Please keep us on the list of supporters.

  8. Mia Says:

    Koream was sent for many years to our church ed. dept. and it’s been so valuable in keeping a finger on the pulse of KA culture and news! Ever since I borrowed my first issue from my roommate at school, I’ve always made it a goal to make it into the pages of Koream! Now THAT would be an accomplishment! And this past August, I my mini-dream came true! I can’t tell you how grateful I am to Koream for supporting KA artists, musicians, and newsmakers.

    We’ve put a link to this blog from our site and I hope through this campaign, more people will find out about this excellent magazine.

    I’ll be getting my workplace to get a subscription! Also, one idea is maybe having a fundraiser gala concert in LA and NY, at the very least, Koream could get valuable press and visibility. I’d be honored to participate!

    -Mia Kim
    http://www.sukeyrose.com

  9. Mira Says:

    I began reading KoreAm when it was published as a newspaper. It was the only source of Korean American news and features, and it remains so today.

    We are lucky to have our own ethnic publication. It helps build a sense of community among Korean Americans throughout the country and fills a large void in the vast media landscape. Without it, we would never know the great and varied accomplishments of our people.

    Let’s do our part to save this very important piece of our Korean American culture.

  10. David Clanton Says:

    I agree KoreAm is a great publication worth saving. Everyone please do whatever you can to help keep KoreAm going. I came to know KorAm when they visited the Defense Language Institute at the Presidio of Monterey, CA and they published a highly detailed, very informative 5-page article about how the US military teaches the Korean language and culture.
    Sincerely,
    Dave Clanton
    Monterey, CA

  11. Joon Park Says:

    To increase the subscriber base, why not target the many Korean American students associations around the country – perhaps entice their members with a free introductory issue? Playing up the ethnic guilt for not supporting KoreAM wouldn’t hurt either.

    JP

  12. lm Says:

    that is a great idea

  13. Don Kim Says:

    I found out about this magazine from my friend I met at a MeetUp.

    I had no idea such a great magazine for Korean Americans was out there. I definitely plan to subscribe and donate. I’ll also see if I can find a way to get the word out.

    -Don Kim
    http://www.donkim.info

  14. Albert Pak Says:

    I’m fairly new to KoreAm magazine, but from what I’ve read, KoreAm is essential in uniting the Korean American community. As a part of the E-board for a large Korean American conference this spring, I find myself continually drawing on KoreAm for inspiration and perspective.

  15. PL Says:

    Ive heard of this mag back when I was going to college. I personally have not subscribed to the magazine but I think its nice to have this type of publication available for KoreAm’s. Its nice that you have benefit events to keep your magazine alive but this is simply a bandage to the problem.

    I think your team needs to sit down and concentrate on the business side rather than spending time on donation events. Think of ways to get more Korean businesses to advertise in your magazine, create a paid classified ad section, generate more traffic to your website. Think about cutting the fat from your company, printing costs, etc. Go to your KoreAm church and professional groups to promote your magazine.There are plenty of ways to increase your business so your magazine continues to stay in business.

    Its pretty tough lately for all businesses but you have to hustle in order to stay ahead. Good luck!

  16. david cho Says:

    I would like to support your cause but THE MAGAZINE IS BORING!!
    i mean just because i am korean doesnt mean i have to support a magazine that doesnt do anything for me. i dont learn anything from it. i dont get entertained by it. i am not proud of it. i feel like i m wasting my time reading it.

    sorry and its nothing personal but i just cant buy a magazine that looks like a loser. so what if you feature koreans who were on tv, movies, etc. so what if you have korean politicians, businessmen,etc. i mean anybody with average intelligence can do that. show us something different. let me be proud that i am buying your magazine.

    i felt proud when i watched bruce lee movies because he made asian guys feel confident and masculine.

    if you want us to save your magazine do something that is not boring, ordinary, and fluffy. do something that can make a difference in korean americans.

  17. Woauiy Says:

    Thanks a lot…

    Hey, I really appreciate your post, it seems that you know what are you doing. I’ll be looking forward to coming again….

Leave a Reply

